Surviving A Crisis

A View from The Trenches

event Thursday, 30 September 2021

Expert Masterclass

Is 'turning off the internet' really the best option when faced with a small denial of service attack? This is surprisingly an approach that is more common than you might think.

This masterclass will comprise a walkthrough of some select observations and lessons learned during both real and simulated cyber crises that survivor Eric Pinkerton has been involved with over the years.

Highlighting some common mistakes, oversights, pitfalls for young players, and downright hilarious war stories, this session will include tips on how to go about planning and running a tabletop exercise. We aim to equip you with a Swiss army knife of useful tools and tactics you can call upon to survive the real thing.

Join Eric for a humorous journey through the rights and wrongs, with key lessons for those preparing for the rise in ransomware and attacks. Eric will share tips that you can use in real world incidents, and keep looking on the bright side. After all, comedy is tragedy plus time.

When & Where

Thursday 30 September 2021
10:00 a.m. SGT | 12:00 p.m. AEST | 3:00 p.m. NZDT

About Our Expert

Eric Pinkerton - Director, Consulting and Professional Services, Trustwave in Pacific
Eric has done many simulated crisis exercises for organisations in the Pacific region. Across his career has experienced a wide range of scenarios - with hundreds of hours on conference bridges and war rooms addressing breaches. He’s well positioned to share his deep expertise in getting organisations out of the deep end of a breach or attack. With 5 AusCERT talks and many more appearances in media, BSides get-togethers and AISA industry events, Eric believes in a healthy level of cynicism and blogs about privacy, security and the myth of infallibility in humans.